Make your own free website on

Best viewed with:
DRAGON: (from Greek drakon, serpent), legendary monster, usually represented as a fire-breathing winged serpent or lizard, with crested head and large claws.
Welcome to our land.
Now please meet the family.

Dragon's Nine Sons

According to legend the Dragon had nine sons, and each had a strong personality. There is no general agreement as to what the Dragon's sons are called. However, to most people, they are:

  1. Haoxian
      A reckless and adventuous dragon whose image can be found decorating the eaves of palaces.
  2. Yazi
      Valiant and bellicose; his image is seen on sword-hilts and knife hilts.
  3. Chiwen
      Chiwen likes to gaze into the distance and his appearance is often carved on pinnacles.
  4. Baxia
      Baxia is a good swimmer and his image decorates many bridge piers and archways.
  5. Pulao
      Pulao is fond of roaring and his figure is carved on bells.
  6. Bixi
      Bixi is an excellent pack-animal whose image appears on panniers.
  7. Qiuniu
      Qiuniu loves music and his figure is a common decoration on the bridge of stringed musical instruments.
  8. Suanmi
      Suanmi is fond of smoke and fire; his likeness can be seen on the legs of incense-burners.
  9. Jiaotu
      Jiaotu is as tight-lipped as a mussel or a snail. His image is carved on doors.

    ©: The Neptune Dragon 1998 | Webmaster: Jan